State Picks 10 Teachers as Regional Teachers of the Year

Share this Article

  • Email

April 11, 2018

Ten Michigan educators have been named as 2018-19 Regional Teachers of the Year and will comprise the 2018-19 Michigan Teacher Leadership Advisory Council, a group of teachers dedicated to sharing a teacher’s voice in education discussions throughout the state.

These teachers were selected following a multi-level process that began with more than 430 different teachers being nominated by students, staff, and community members. 

On April 18-19, they will interview with a panel of statewide education stakeholders to determine the 2018-19 statewide Michigan Teacher of the Year (MTOY), an award Meemic sponsors.

“We have outstanding teachers across this great state and we want to recognize their regional impact and benefit from their experiences,” said State Superintendent Brian Whiston. “This brings a broad perspective to improving teaching and learning in all Michigan classrooms.”

As Regional Teachers of the Year, these 10 educators have been helping make Michigan a Top 10 education state in 10 years by providing strong leadership in their buildings and districts, and now will have opportunities to expand their leadership role by having opportunities to bring a teacher’s voice to a wider audience in their regions. 

The 10 teachers are:

Region 1: Gina Pepin, a reading specialist and literacy coach for the Escanaba Area Public Schools

Region 2: Kymberli Wregglesworth, who teaches history at Onaway High School in Onaway Area Community Schools

Region 3: Wendy Tenney, a music teacher at Lowell High School in Lowell Area Schools

Region 4: James Goodspeed, who teaches English and history at Fulton High School in Fulton Public Schools

Region 5: Karen Nicol, an elementary teacher at Marlette Elementary Schools in Marlette Community Schools

Region 6: Robyne Muray, who teaches English, language arts, and history at Lansing Eastern High School in the Lansing School District

Region 7: Laura Chang, an elementary teacher at Sunset Lake Elementary in the Vicksburg Community Schools

Region 8: Bobbiesue Adams, who teaches mathematics and physical science at Fowlerville Junior High School in Fowlerville Community Schools

Region 9: Thomas Torrento, director of bands for Van Dyke Public Schools

Region 10: Courtney Valentine, who teaches mathematics at the Detroit International Academy of Young Women in Detroit Public Schools Community District

The statewide MTOY attends State Board of Education meetings as a non-voting member, sharing a teacher’s voice with State Board members. 

The MTOY also is eligible to apply for National Teacher of the Year and participates in several national conferences with their fellow state teachers of the year.

Program expenses are covered through a generous sponsorship from Meemic.

 “As the program sponsor, Meemic Insurance Company is proud to partner with the Michigan Department of Education to honor educators throughout the state for their outstanding achievements,” said Pam Harlin, director of the Meemic Foundation. “We are especially excited about the new regional Teacher of the Year format.  Recognizing teacher-leaders at the regional level elevates the diverse voices of educators across the 10 regions of our state, allowing a better showcase of the quality and excellence of Michigan teachers.”