Celebrating Educators with Some Laughs and Inspiration

2020 and 2021 have been challenging years in the educational community.  Teachers have been stretched to their limits as they continue, struggling to meet the demands of teaching in-person and online.  

Today, more than ever, every teacher needs a champion! So, in October, The Meemic Foundation for the Future of Education is hosting a celebration of teachers, featuring some of the biggest names in education nationally and from the states The Foundation serves.

Here’s a peek:


Meet the Speakers

Rodney Robinson

Rodney Robinson, who teaches at Virgie Binford Education Center in Richmond, Va., is the 2019 National Teacher of the Year. The 19-year teaching veteran has received numerous awards for his accomplishments in and out of the classroom. 

Ron Clark

Ron Clark is co-founder of the Ron Clark Academy in Atlanta, Ga. He is a best-selling author who has been featured on “The Today Show,” CNN, and “Oprah,” and Ms. Winfrey even named him as her first “Phenomenal Man.”

Judy Carter

Interviewed by Oprah Winfrey after writing her first book, Judy Carter went from playing Vegas as a headlining standup comic to become an in-demand speaker on “The Power of Purpose” to overcome stress and navigate change.

Joe Dombrowski

A former elementary teacher in Metro Detroit, Joe Dombrowski gained Internet fame through a viral video of a class April Fool’s Day joke. He appeared multiple times on “The Ellen DeGeneres Show” and is now a teacher and stand-up comic in Seattle, Wa.

With Special Guests

Dr. Miguel Cardona, U.S. Secretary of Education
Dave Burgess, NYT best-selling author of the “Teach Like a Pirate” series
Owen Bondono, 2020-21 Michigan Teacher of the Year
Leah Porter, 2021-22 Michigan Teacher of the Year
Tracey Nance Pendley, 2020-21 Georgia Teacher of the Year
Justin Johnson, 2021 Illinois Teacher of the Year
Tina Miller, 2021 AWSA Wisconsin Elementary School Principal of the Year
Dave Beranek, 2021 AWSA Wisconsin Secondary Principal of the Year
Dr. Earl Franks, Executive Director at National Association of Elementary School Principals